Blackberries, not BlackBerry

It’s been much too long since I posted anything, but suffice it to say that I’ve been eating.  Too much.  Eating too much.  Eating too much sugar, to be precise.

Sigh.

Yes, I’m a non-blogging bottomless pit as of late, and so I’ve decided to go refined carbohydrate-free for seven days to get things back to normal.  Has my sweet tooth subsided?  Somewhat, yes.  I find it easier to say N-O to the many muffins and bagels that are set out at work for the pickin’ (and free!) at the 4:00 hour, but it doesn’t mean that I still don’t want something specifically un-savory after dinner.

Take it away, blackberries.  I forgot you existed except as a way to keep me chained to friends/family/work at all hours of the day!

IMG_0273

Oh, pretty!

And sorta weird-lookin’!

Saw them at the co-op this week and snatched them up at a good price, despite being past peak season.  They’re organic, to boot.  I’ve mostly been stirring them into my Fage Total 0% yogurt but may try them in a morning smoothie soon.

Want the nutritionals for 1 cup?

nutrition

High in fiber (a whopping 8 grams!) and high in Vitamin C!  Yay!

Sure, a good portion of calories are from sugars, but yo, those are natural sugars and when paired with the fiber, don’t cause spikes in your glucose levels like, say, that evil Fat-Free Berry-Full Muffin That Waits for Me at 4pm.

(Listen:  a piece of fruit is not a candy bar, Dr. Atkins.)

If I ever get around to pairing blackberrries with savory flavors, I’ll try this.

How do you like your blackberries?

handwriting

Leave a Reply

