Tang: not just for astronauts

I admit it.

I’m addicted to unsweetened vanilla almond milk.

I will drink that stuff straight from the carton in the middle of the night, refrigerator door open and in my skivvies.  I find myself going to the coop at least once a week for an almond milk run.  I put it in smoothies and oatmeal and my creamy curried veggies.  I just can’t get enough.

But yesterday morning, I ran out.

DRAT.

Oikos to the rescue!

IMG_0105

So, I made my overnight oats with Oikos instead and yum yum yum.  If only the coop sold Oikos!  I mean, I certainly can’t make a weekly trip to Whole Foods just for the Oikos, can I?  Or can I.  Eeeeek.  (Or is Fage just as yum?  Please tell me.  Oh, and thank you, Food Blogosphere, for turning me on to the stuff.  Next up?  A Green Monster, banana soft serve, or chia seeds.)

Here’re the deets:

  • Uno container (5ish ounces) of Oikos in vanilla flavor
  • 1/4 c. oats
  • Dash of cinnamon
  • Squirt of agave nectar
  • Small handful of raisins

Mix ‘er up all good and let sit overnight in the fridge.  In the morning, preferably while sitting on the couch watching “American Morning” on CNN and waiting for your hair to dry, eat and enjoy.  Add extra fruit or nuts or dry cereal if you wish, though this morning I did without.

Oh, and of course I’m going to call it Oink-ohs, because I think that’s cuter.

handwriting

Leave a Reply

